Contact us
Sixteen finalists make the cut for AMP Amplify Ignite 2019
12 September 2019

Sixteen PhD students have become finalists in the 2019 AMP Amplify Ignite competition.

Their bold, curious, and “limitless” ideas have helped them beat over 85 competitors, and given them the opportunity to take their research from the laboratory to the business world.

This year’s qualifying finalists represent ten universities from across Australia, with the highest representation from Queensland.

AMP Amplify Ignite offers PhD students the possibility to pitch their research projects to a live audience on 13 November.

A panel of judges will decide which of the sixteen finalists will be in with the chance to win $10,000 to progress their work.

The finalists will also have the unique opportunity to receive professional coaching and mentoring over two days in October, equipping them with the skills to perfect their 150 second pitch.

Reuben Young, Head of Amplify AMP, said: "There is a wide variety of research topics this year, from personalised medical treatments, to environmental regeneration to big data cloud storage solutions."

Since 2009, Ignite has been a great platform helping students to progress their research and move closer to commercialising their ideas. 

For more information about the 2019 finalists and to book your ticket to the Ignite pitch night on 13 November, visit

  • Aiden Kane (University of Sydney)
  • Alon Loeffler (University of Sydney)
  • Andrew Law (University of New South Wales)
  • Dilan Seckiner (University of Technology Sydney)
  • Divahar Jayaraman (Adelaide University)
  • Jack Drummond (University of Melbourne)
  • Lorna Howlett (University of Technology Sydney)
  • Naomi Paxton (Queensland University of Technology)
  • Navid Toosi Saidy (Queensland University of Technology)
  • Nhi Tran (RMIT University)
  • Rabia Mobeen (University of New South Wales)
  • Rekha Nachiappan (Western Sydney University)
  • Samantha Wade (University of Wollongong)
  • Shoja Jamali (Queensland University of Technology)
  • Spyros Schismenos (Western Sydney University)
  • Suneeti Purohit (Swinburne University of Technology)


Contact details
Media enquiries
+61 (0) 2 9257 6127